With an increasing overweight population some think universities should make sport a compulsory module on all degree courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought by some that the University ought to make sport a mandatory module in all graduation courses which in turn people would be more aware and save themselves from obesity. Apparently, The advantages of enforcing physical fitness courses on a compulsory basis at University are two-fold. Firstly, Physical activity increases people's total energy expenditure which can help them stay an energy balanced or even lose weight. It can be a form of education by giving them a detailed explanation of nutrition and also include sports such as Basketball,Football or any other physical work demanding activities. It has been proven in the survey that 45% of younglings who have actively participated in sports have observed positive changes in their bodies. Secondly, physical exertion can also improve cognitive skills, reduce the risk of disease and strengthen bones and muscles. If a person starts to exercise and becomes well aware of health then he/she is less likely to become obese. As a matter of fact, if person would be coerced to work as a part of their study which they cannot avoid there are high chance of them getting fit and having fine bodies. For example, In Nigeria, graduate students have to enrol themselves in at least one sport as a part of their curriculum. In conclusion, It is clear that physical education is enable to assist the community in achieving their overall health goal. Therefore, it is advisable to add them to the syllabus.