More and more people no longer read newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the Internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, it is common for people to know current affairs through the Internet instead of TV programs and newspapers. Considering the information gap and economic progress, I believe that it is a positive development. Firstly, getting information from cyberspace is positive progress as the information gap between urban citizens and people who live in remote areas can be narrowed. To be more specific, the spread of information on the Internet cannot be limited by distances and costs as the newspaper or TV programs, leading to people living in remote regions being able to access to as much information as the urban public. In comparison, the dissemination of knowledge by newspapers is limited by shipping time due to the long distance, which causes a time difference between people in urban and rural areas in knowing current events. As a result, the information differences between people living in different regions can be reduced. Secondly, knowing current events about the world through the Internet is a positive development because economic growth can be promoted. More specifically, the amount of news on the Internet is more than that on newspapers or TV programs, and the form of news cannot be limited. Therefore, it is definitely clear that once the content on the Internet that people get in touch with increases, the chance that they make more profits will go up. However, this phenomenon can also lead to a halt in the paper-making industry or other industries, causing damage to the economy. Consequently, financial progress can be achieved in the long term. In conclusion, although short-term disadvantages will occur in the economy, there will be a return in the long run and in more aspects. Therefore, I believe that this phenomenon is a positive development.