Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

As cross-cultural awareness of water pollution grows, diverse causes are intensifying this challenge such as chemical waste produced by numerous industries. Fortunately, every problem has a solution. Below, the following essay will demonstrate the causes and possible solutions to decrease water contamination. On the one hand, many industries do not have a proper waste management system and drain the waste into the fresh water which goes into rivers, canals, and later into the sea. The toxic chemicals usually change the color of water, increase the number of minerals, and change the temperature affecting the water ecosystem. Numerous industries are killing water organisms in many ways. For instance, daily routine shipping and seaport operations are the core of oil spills. Once the oil spills into the water, it makes a thick layer on the surface of the water. Hence, it kills marine life because it prevents light from penetrating into the water and it cuts the supply of converted oxygen. Another illustration is that industries located near rivers and lakes usually get rid of their waste in the water even if it is radioactive, impacting the whole worldwide water system, and the wildlife and humans feeding from them. On the other hand, individual and industrial collaborations can reduce the contamination impact on the water ecosystem. Individually, people should not drop plastic or any other type of garbage anywhere. Even when they are far from the sea, somehow plastic can end there and kill marine species. Moreover, the waste produced by companies should be regulated. Governments in developed countries have efficient control over them. Developing nations should equally take care of the issue. In conclusion, whereas diverse manufacturers create a vast number of toxic waste and dump them into the ocean, regulations, and policies must be put into practice to reduce the problem. Likewise, individually people can collaborate to help the marine ecosystem.