Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Physical activities like sports improve well-being. Few people argue that by raising the number of sports facilities the health of the public will get improved, while others say that it may have an impact on the citizen's well-being and other factors should be considered. This essay will discuss both views and I will give my opinion at the end of the essay. It is true that there are many fitness centres around the world. However, there are only a few individuals who rely on gym and sports to maintain their fitness. It is true that regular physical exercises will enhance one's flexibility and improve health but a survey conducted by the government says that only 40% of men and women who enrolled for sports facilities tend to go regularly and others discontinue after a few days of joining. Hence, expanding the amenities will not be a solution to improve health. Apart from that to achieve good health, the government should take the initiative to start classes for motivation and inspiration. These sessions will improve individual's regularity in their work. People with strong desire and motivation will participate in physical activities irrespective of the amenities. For instance, soldiers, who live in a variety of challenging environments, are physically fit due to their determination and discipline towards maintaining a healthy lifestyle. Weighing up both sides of the argument, the best way to boost public health is by motivating them towards physical activities rather than buying expensive equipment. This is because sports equipment alone cannot give a better life.