In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays with the advances in technology, people would rather live in cities instead of the countryside. Hence, the population in cities has risen and it has fallen in the rural areas. I believe it is a negative development due to the increasing air pollution in big cities and growing the average age of the small towns which can cause more gaps in facilities between them and cities in the next years. To begin with, most of the capital cities around the world struggle with air pollution. Increasing the number of cars and the amount of industries' production has led over-crowded cities to face a major crisis. Moreover, individuals have to be stuck in huge traffic congestions every day to go to their workplace. It is crystal clear that these cities are not constructed for this number of people and expensive reconstructions and developments are required to adapt them to this crowd. For example, governments allocate a huge amount of budget every year to expand the subway and increase the number of buses around the town to accommodate residents. In addition to this, by immigrating youngsters to cities, the average age of the small towns increases and providing appropriate healthcare for them would be a challenge. On the grounds that most immigrants are the younger ones who have the ambition to find a new career and greater job opportunities in cities, the difference in available facilities provided by professionals between cities and the suburbs will be more and more till these places are not suitable to live anymore. To conclude, based on the recent development of big cities, individuals move from the countryside to these places looking for a career. In my opinion, this trend results in more air pollution in the big cities and also less development of technologies and facilities in the countryside.