People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this? Ngoc Nhi

In the modern world, individuals tend to allocate smaller amounts of time for their kinship and loved ones. While this trend continues to happen on a global scale, the reasons behind it and the consequences for families in particular and society as a whole will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, there are many reasons leading to the spread of this movement. A major explanation is that the hectic schedule of an intensive, busy 24-hour world makes it nearly impossible for residents to have quality family time. More specifically, most of the employees in developing nations like Vietnam are working nine-to-five jobs, plus the time spent in congested traffic, they would be exhausted when reaching home, and they deserve a rest and replenish time for themselves. Therefore, quality time for other family members becomes a luxury. Another reason is that technological devices often create an isolated virtual world in which people immerse themselves after a long day of working rather than talk about their day with their loved ones. Moving on to the influence this trend may bring to families and society. First and foremost, it is clear that a tight-knit family structure will be affected negatively. Since the time spent together is on the decline, the frequency and quality of communication also deteriorate hence, the bonding and compassion between members faded over time. Secondly, isolation slowly leads to alienation between members of their own family, thus causing mental disorders such as depression and anxiety. In conclusion, quality family time is becoming increasingly rare due to the aforementioned causes, and the disadvantages that come along with it are so crucial they need to be solved immediately to ensure a stable and warm home for everyone.