In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

The caretakers of elderly individuals are often overworked and feel they are neglecting their duties. In my opinion, this hurts quality of care and the best solution is comprehensive, societal reform. The main issues resulting from (a) lack of time to look after the elderly have to do with poor care. A nurse with several patients to visit, who might all require around the clock care, must prioritise. The neglected patients are then more likely to develop bed sores, poor nutrition, and depression. In more extreme situations, patients with dementia or life-threatening conditions for example, there may be serious injury. An Alzheimer’s patient may wander out of the house, get lost and not be able to find their way home. A critically ill patient may need urgent care and not be able to contact the hospital in an emergency. These problems can be partly remedied if society felt responsible for the elderly. There are examples of nations like Japan, where old people are highly respected. This permeates all levels of society and translates to children and grandchildren being more willing to take on the burden of care, as well as more attentive doctors and better government-funded social programs. All these measures combined not only have a tangible, daily impact but also shift the societal mindset from considering the elderly a nuisance to regarding them as a milestone in life that all must pass through, deserving of respect. In conclusion, the problems related to limited opportunities for looking after the elderly concern their level of care and can be combatted with a number of measures permeating multiple layers of society. Though unlikely, these reforms would evidence a core of human compassion.