Some people think that sports play an important role in society.Other think they are nothing more than a leisure activity.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people opine whether games play vital societal roles other than pleasurable activities. This essay seeks to discuss both sides and I will give my opinion. To begin with, there are several benefits associated with sports. Firstly, sporting activities are money-making ventures and also entertains. Globally, sporting activities like football, swimming, and long and table games of tennis serve as professions for some individuals.These people are specially trained to make them play these games well.They make money from engaging in such activities. For example, the World Cup entertains persons from all walks of life, unites the world and also pays the players. Matches are organized between nations to determine the winner. The players of the overall winning country are awarded a trophy and that society gains recognition universally. In addition, these sports are aired on television and viewers watch their favourite teams play against other teams as a means of entertainment. The spectators supporting one team form a united front and cheer the players in their teams. It is clear from these points that sports serve purposes beyond leisure activities. On the other hand, sports tend to exercise the human body. Experts in the health sector highly recommend each person perform one sport or the other as a way of keeping fit. Exercise has been proven to burn some body fat to make one stay healthy. Due to this, most schools have physical activity as part of their curriculum to enable students to stay active. Moreover, most individuals spend their spare time performing a particular sport to stay physically active. I can also understand why people opine sports are just leisure activities. To sum up, my opinion is although sports are commonly carried out as leisure activities, they also serve very significant purposes as people's careers and also a way of keeping fit. Therefore, they cannot be termed as only leisure activities.