Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whether criminals were born evil or were influenced by the environment is a highly debatable discussion point. From my perspective, living conditions as well as mob mentality play a key role in why folk commit a crime, whereas DNA is believed to be the most possible reason. If people lived under the poverty line, they would likely break the laws in order to get their minimal demands met. To be more specific, with neither enough food nor entertainment, human survival instincts will take control of people's behaviours and encourage folk to make unethical decisions to satisfy their necessities, despite the tough penalties. Take a needy homeless instance, even though he was not immoral when facing dying of hunger, the only way he could choose was to steal some food. By contrast, many hold the belief that not only the criminal's physical but also mental abilities are biologically passed down to their offspring and thus force them to be another offender. In other words, criminals' children might react in the same way as their parents which probably would result in an offence commitment were they to face the case that their parents had before. However, this assumption only exists when the unlawful upbringing way which compromises the youth is the most overlooked. From my prior experience, surrounded by a community that potentially commits a crime surely makes the crowd to be a potential offender. To explain further, being in a large group, individuals often neglect their own thinking and act like the rest of the group even in sinful actions such as looting or smoking weed. As a consequence of being affected by the bad culture, the community would no longer be able to distinguish between unacceptable or moral behaviours. In conclusion, whilst DNA may take an insignificant part in one's evil, mob mentality and quality of life must be taken into consideration as the core reason to explain the wicked actions. Unless independent thinking together with living standards were improved, the crime rate would never go down.