Many agricultural lands are being converted into commercial centers. How does this affect the environment and the people’s lifestyle? Discuss this situation and provide suggestions to address these issues. Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

A lot of farmlands are being turned into buildings for commercial purposes. This could lead to being prone to floods and may increase the prices of commodities. I believe that proper construction of drainage systems and support of local products could prevent these from occurring, and this could also increase the job opportunities for residents. This essay will discuss this further and provide a conclusion. To begin, deforestation of agricultural lands has been going on to build shopping centres or hospitals in many rural areas, which potentially put places at risk of flooding. Along with this, more land has to be modified into roadpaths for vehicles. To tackle the said risk, a properly planned sewage system must be built to prevent this natural disaster from people dying and properties getting destroyed. This is evident in many developed rural areas in the Philippines, where in every alley of the roads at least three to five drainages were constructed in exchange for the trees that they chopped down. Moreover, the lifestyle of people in the community could drastically change as the prices may go higher because shops will now have to pay expensive rents in a new infrastructure. However, if local commodities were offered, this would lessen the imposed taxes, compared to imported products. Whilst from a different angle, this can be seen as a positive impact for the people in the area, because opportunities for job seekers will be available. In conclusion, although the development of agricultural lands could put the place at high risk of natural calamities, well-built sewage may prevent this challenge. Meanwhile, an increase in the price of goods may be the result of these changes, but if people were to support local goods more than ones from overseas, this could lessen the severity of this issue. Also, this could bring more work opportunities to them.