Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the government and individuals to solve this problem?

Nowadays, people have been using more and more plastic products due to their variety of usage. Unfortunately, plastic waste has more detrimental effects on the environment however, government and people should have the responsibility to eradicate environmental pollution due to plastic materials. Firstly, these artificial materials cause huge troubles to society, additionally, the predominant effect is various types of animal species are more prone to extinct from the world because they consume tremendous macro and microplastic goods which are not digested in the digestive system, then they have to die after lots of suffering. For instance, a UK study shows that collected plastic waste stored in the seabed is the cause of 90% of sea animal destruction. Furthermore, all these types of artificial products are non-degradable which leads to soil pollution therefore, plants can not grow naturally and it diminishes the quality of production. Moreover, Sri Lankan annual rice production in 2020 decreased drastically due to the low quality of soil on the site. Consequently, flora and fauna experience huge harm as society's dedication to these production improvements. However, government authorities and the community must take interventions to decrease environmental damages such as plastic bags and others. If responsible departments make tight laws and legislations against plastic waste, pollution may be minimised as well and they can announce some limitations on harmful materials, then humans be aware of that and should be responsible. Finally, the government and private sector must deliver the 3R concept to society, that is reduce, reuse and recycle. For example, Japan's federal has given evidence for successful plastic waste management and after a few,years they experienced non-death due to non-degradable materials. So, after following the above actions, the environment will be secure in the near future for the next generations. In conclusion, although the decomposition of plastic allows for the destruction of biodiversity in many ways, humans must intervene to implement this artificial disaster as either individuals or a community.