Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Statistics show the population of people who choose alternative solutions rather than visiting their usual doctor for their health problems has exponentially increased since the last decade. In terms of my mind, due to many problems like misunderstanding complex diseases and leading to being unfaithful to the doctors, this can be considered as a negative development in society. It's true that in so many complex and fatal diseases like cancer, the time of diagnosis plays a significant role in treatment. In these kinds of health problems, if diagnosis happens as soon as possible, may prevent the death of the patient. While the diagnosis time can be interpreted as a golden time, many people prefer to help themselves with some alternate treatments like herbal teas, special soups and home treatments. Consequently, if they face major health problems like heart disease, not only are these kinds of treatments mostly ineffective but also make the time for disease worse. For instance, my aunt had felt pain in her chest many years before she went to the doctor to find her problem out, hence she lost the golden time the diagnosis and the disease became fatal. She passed away three years ago. On the other hand, this may lead members of society to be unfaithful to their doctors and medical science. Furthermore, many of these alternatives and options come out as scientific facts which it's not true and these rumours can make work for medical society harder. For example, when so much wrong information comes out on social media, doctors and medical society should inform people of the true facts and this is a new responsibility for them which gains their precious time. So not only the time that they can save people should be spent on this problem but also makes them frustrated. This is a real problem and negative development in society that governments should take decisions to tackle it. So to sum up, however, the number of people that use alternative treatments rather than visiting their doctors has increased, personally I consider it as a negative development because of the problems that it can cause for medical society and preventing fatal diseases.