Question: Over-fishing has become a very common practice in many countries. ● Why is so? ● What do you think are the effects of over-fishing?

Mass level of fishing has become prevalent in the majority of countries and has become a global concern. The wide use of fish products is resulting in the exploitation of the species. This essay will highlight the reasons and the effects of overfishing. Firstly, the rapid increase in population is the major reason for overfishing as more food is required to feed more mouths. To Add on, many people have developed a taste for exotic fishes like blue whales and certain octopuses and thus these rare species are being hunted for greater prices. Also, aquatic animals are rich in omega 3 which is widely used for medicinal purposes contributing to the prominent reason for extensive fishing. Apart from health and medicine, certain fish oils like cod liver oil are primarily used in cosmetics like serums and creams as a lubricant. Sadly, overfishing contributes to drastic adverse effects on the water bodies and marine animals. The primary impact is the disturbance in the aquatic food chain resulting in a negative impact on the marine environment. Secondly, many exotic species are now classified as endangered and need preservation in order to survive. Furthermore, to fulfill the increased demand, unethical methods are being used which are contributing to water pollution. For instance, as per the research conducted by a profound marine biologist on a sample of ocean area, it was found that due to the elimination of certain species, the ecosystem of the area has deteriorated. In conclusion, extensive fishing is very common nowadays for its medicinal, cosmetic, and health benefits and in my opinion, it is greatly affecting the aquatic ecosystem and its inhabitants. The need for humans should not supersede the impact on animals.