Some people think that ambition is essential for success. To what extent do you agree?

Some argue that one's aspirations in life are important in order to be successful. This essay partially agrees with this statement. A person's dream can motivate him, however, I believe that it needs a lot of hard work in order to achieve it. To begin with, one's ambition can be a good motivation for people to succeed. This can help them focus and align their steps towards achieving their goals. That is to say, they will not suddenly give up despite the challenges that will come along the way. For instance, the dream of the person who built the first computer was to make all the information available in one machine. Despite the negative feedback he received from his colleagues, he stayed focused on his dream. As a result, humanity is now enjoying the greatest invention of all time. Thus, one aspiration can contribute to the success of an individual. In addition to that, hard work can lead to a successful life. A person needs to put in his time and effort in order to achieve his ambitions. It is not something that comes overnight. It needs consistent effort and most successful people have attested to this. For example, Michael Jordan's dream was to be part of the NBA. However, he was deemed to be not good enough to play for his high school varsity team. This became his motivation and he worked hard day and night. As a result, he is one of the greatest basketball players of all time up to this day. Hence, this proves that working hard is important to be successful In conclusion, ambition is essential for a successful life, however, I believe that it should be backed up with hard work.