Some people believe that the culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting culture.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a common belief that culture will be destroyed when people use it to make money from tourists, while others claim that using these traditions as money -making ventures is the only way to save them. I contend that using cultural traditions to attract visitors can increase the revenue that can be used for preservation purposes, it can heighten people's awareness and support the country's economy. It is vital to understand that money is a necessity in continuing these traditions, therefore money coming from visitors will bring in actual revenue for the skilled labourers of these traditional villages. For instance, many inhabitants of Bat Trang village in Vietnam make their living by selling traditional ceramic products to tourists, and thus are able to continue one of the oldest traditions in Vietnam. However, some believe that visitors can permanently change these traditions as these traditional artisans are forced to change their methods and products for commercialization, in order to compete in an increasingly competitive market space. This may be a credible point, but the effect of tourism on people's awareness should be considered. For example, the Vietnamese government has built several museums around the country that solely exhibit examples of ethnic minority cultures in an attempt to protect cultural values without affecting the lives of those ethnic minorities, yet successfully gathering a lot of public attention and support. The writer contends that tourism also plays a vital role in a country's economy since it is one of the services that creates the most jobs in a nation. In other words, tourism creates jobs and brings in a massive amount of money for a country. In particular, island countries such as the Bahamas and the Maldives are heavily reliant on tourism, as it is the only economic sector that could thrive there and it is the only job-creating sector. While people argue that tourism can be detrimental to the local culture, the writer emphasizes its role in preservation, creating livelihood and economic value. Hence, it should have been shown that tourism is the only way of protecting culture.