Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctors. Do you think this is positive or negative trend?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is using different ways to treat diseases rather than the usual medical consultation. From my perspective, I believe that treating medical conditions by alternative methods is a negative trend. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on that. To begin with, treating sick people with complementary medicine could lead to serious complications. To illustrate, patients who are diagnosed with high grade tumors usually need urgent treatment with surgical removal, chemotherapy or radiotherapy. On the other hand, delaying treatment or using unstandardized medicine instead of evidence-based treatment protocols could end the patient’s life. Additionally, wrong diagnosis and treatment results from relying on unconventional medicine rather than seeking advice from professional doctors. To elaborate, disease detection needs essential medical knowledge and experience that allows an appropriate full evaluation to find the specific cause of the patients’ complaints and treat them accordingly. This proper consultation and diagnosis could not be achieved by using alternative medicine, which is sometimes done by non-medical staff. Although, taking remedies to treat symptoms can alleviate discomfort, it can also mask the real disease. For example, taking remedies for recurrent headaches, even though it can decrease the pain, it may mask brain tumors, if they are not fully evaluated by a consultant. In conclusion, increasing the risk of devastating consequences of not using the standard medications, and the possibility of wrong detection are the main reasons why I believe that displacing the usual doctors’ consultations by alternative medicine is a negative trend.