Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Traditional medicine has had a crucial impact on our societies, and our quality of life has been improved by executing cutting-edge diagnosis techniques and treatments. However, many people have changed their usual doctor appointments with alternative and non-evidence-based medicine. I think that both sides have advantages and disadvantages. In this essay, I will explain my reasons in detail. To start with, 'based-evidence medicine ' is a term that was adopted many centuries ago due to the necessity of finding explanations and creating procedures in order to alleviate and cure illnesses that caused many deaths, such as Yellow Fever, Malaria, Influenza, etc. For this reason, treatments that have been invented are based on their specific pathophysiological mechanisms as well as big-scale research done in the population. For example, the COVID-19 disease, which started in 2019, had unknown physiological processes that were elucidated, and then most of the directed treatments reduced mortality and morbidity, namely mechanical ventilation, corticosteroids, antibiotics, and antivirals. Conversely, aboriginal and traditional theories have been supported by our ancestors as well as they have been inherited generation by generation, many people still believe in treatments and preventive measures that have no scientific evidence, such as the importance of avoiding eating sweets before breakfast in order to reduce the contagious risk of gastrointestinal parasites. Besides, there are other types of techniques that have been proposed, exemplified by Acupuncture. This is a widely used Chinese tool that has been implemented not only to relieve pain and stress but to cure it. Then, this technique has been catapulted into the new generations. To sum up, medicine, either traditional or alternative, has been crucial in the improvement of (the) life expectancy in societies. Then, both should be recognized and their techniques must be carefully completed.