23.Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Economic growth has been one of the top priorities of every state around the world. However, some experts believe that rich countries with an additional increase in economic wealth cannot create more satisfaction for their citizens. Personally, I hold a different perspective on this notion. On the one hand, it is true that people from improved societies may not experience greater pleasure because of the heavy workload. Due to the tasks of expanding the economy, businesses are required to boost their productivity and speed up innovative progress, leading to increased working hours. Therefore, people may not have enough time dedicated to their leisure activities. This can cause an increase in stress and depression which are the two main indicators when measuring the happiness index of a certain country. For example, despite being the most developed economy in the world, the U.S. has the highest suicide rate globally. On the other hand, the belief that a rise in the economy is positively associated with more happiness is grounded for several reasons. Firstly, it is undeniable that citizens from the developed economy can have a higher living standard, including better living conditions with modern facilities and more chances to access the top education system and the world-class healthcare system. As a result, the world has witnessed a huge flow of people from underdeveloped and developing countries migrating to developed ones with the hope of a brighter future. Secondly, with a prosperous economy, wealthier nations can have more resources to deal with social issues such as improving educational quality and overcoming environmental damage and inequalities. To illustrate, during the COVID-19 pandemic, while poor countries were struggling to provide their citizens with daily needs like food, medicine and accommodation, residents from rich nations can easily overcome the pandemic with financial support them their governments. In conclusion, although the growth in the economy may lead to a more stressful workload, I firmly believe that this development can contribute significantly to a person's fulfilment thanks to a higher living standard and social issues being addressed. It is advisable that countries should continuously develop their economies to enhance the happiness of their citizens.