Although modern life has brought with it improvements in people’s standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a fact that the current way of life is different from the past due to the rise of many technological inventions, yet there are a lot of people who may argue otherwise. This essay will outline the reasons why I completely agree with the notion that such innovations still fail to make the public emotionally satisfied. Firstly, the internet is the biggest factor in revolutionizing the world today and setting the motion for the digital era. This invention gave rise to social media and to social pressure as a result of that. Platforms like Facebook, YouTube and Twitter are now preferred as the mainstream media and allow everyone to be easily accessible online. Contents are regularly uploaded by everyone in an effort to go viral, which in fact is causing serious mental health issues, especially among young vulnerable children. Secondly, the invention of smartphones from the old-fashioned flip phones has certainly contributed to shaping this era as digital. Unlike before, social interactions no longer take place in a coffee shop or playground between friends but on a phone screen with animated emojis. This has led the generation to become less social in comparison to its ancestors which may typically lead the youth to struggle with communication or interpersonal skills when looking for jobs that do not involve the virtual realm. These factors must be taken into consideration when analyzing whether or not the way of life has changed for the better or worse. To conclude, although there have been major innovative advancements to make life or work easier than before, the implications of these inventions outweigh their benefits. I agree with the studies that show a large number of individuals are struggling with their mental health and social skills because of these inventions.