Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

The purpose of advertisement is to persuade consumers to buy a product so they make the advertising appealing and also increase the rate of appearing in public. However, this can be irritating to some people and according to them, it brings backfire effects. In my point of view, I believe that advertising does have some influence on shoppers’ behavior but to claim that this is a major or minor influence, individuals’ perspectives and situations should be taken into account. To begin with, a piece of advertising can be delivered to customers in many ways, and as the frequency of being seen by people increases, the greater the effect it has. This is called brand recognition. This is a conventional strategy that has been successfully applied throughout history. For instance, old brands namely Adidas and Nike that have been on the market for a long time are familiar to consumers since they passively see the logos of these brands daily. As a result, when it comes to buying shoes and sneakers, Nike and Adidas are their first choices. Moreover, in the modern world, since e-commerce platforms are growing rapidly leading to customers not experiencing the quality of products in person, online advertising has a tremendous benefit as it tells the buyers the product’s pros, and usages. In contrast, the decision to purchase a product consists of many factors other than appealing advertising. A wise buyer would buy a product based on its price with respect to the quality it gives. Therefore, advertising with slight exaggeration could not affect one’s act of buying or not. Moreover, advertising that appears in some situations could create inconvenience for customers. A good example of this is YouTube ads. These ads interrupt in between the videos which reduce the enjoyment of users. Therefore, people would have negative attitudes towards the products being advertised. To conclude, advertising is a familiar concept to anyone. A piece of advertising could enhance products’ sales but also could be irritating; therefore, the potential of it maximizing or not depends on how it is delivered to buyers.