Some people say it benefits students spending at least one year away before going to the university, do you agree or disagree?

Many allege that spending a gap year before starting education at the undergraduate level, is helpful for pupils. This essay will discuss the reasons why I completely disagree with this statement while sharing reasons why others may agree with it. To begin with, missing a year of education is equivalent to falling behind almost 365 days from fellow classmates who did not take the gap. The world is a highly competitive place than before so one must be strategic in their decisions. To illustrate, someone graduating a year earlier may be hired for the job that you are qualified for, while you struggle to find any suitable openings after your graduation. Every second counts and they are valuable. As a result, time is key and it cannot be wasted without any major consideration or thought. Nevertheless, many argue that time is not a factor when considering that it can be used for something else instead of academia. For example, it may be wise for students to gain work experience and other skills before earning a degree in order to increase their range outside of academia. This quality is also highly sought after by employers and therefore individuals should be encouraged to spend more time practically, rather than theoretically. To conclude, although it is highly beneficial to gain some practical knowledge as opposed to only reading theories, I think it will be wiser to gain this knowledge while completing the degree. It is not necessary to skip a year of learning for the purpose of collecting work experience when it is possible to do them as part- time work instead. Students must understand how to prioritize time properly should they wish to succeed in life.