Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

There are different points of view on how governments should spend public money. While some people believe that it is worth searching for life on other planets, others claim that it is a waste of the public money and that governments have to tackle first more urgent issues. As far as I am concerned, looking for other forms of life reserves attention from public institutions, however, earth plenty of problems which has to be addressed. Those who believe that there is life on other planets, rely on the growing evidence suggesting that some new organisms, or even human life, may be found on planets such as Mars or Saturn. As a consequence, governments are funding projects to gather more evidence. For example, in 2024, NASA received 4 billion dollars to reach the goal of getting humans to Mars, which is 'our next-door neighbour'. Moreover, television is broadcasting an increasing number of programmes about the presence of aliens and extraterrestrials, pushing governments to make investments in the matter. Nevertheless, despite numerous missions and observations, scientists have not found proof of life's existence on other planets. However, despite numerous missions and observations, scientists have not found proof of life's existence on other planets. Furthermore, the world is facing pressure on different fronts: from environmental to geopolitical issues, and countries need more money to spend on their industries and citizens. The current trade war started in February, after the re-election of Donald Trump as US President, had waken governments on the need to preserve their goods. Moreover, the rate of poverty rose by about 5% in the last three years and citizens can't neither afford to pay their energy bills. So, spending money to develop theories that have not had results until now is a waste of time and could jeopardize the lives of citizens. In conclusion, while some research claims that a new form of life may be found, the earth has pressing issues which deserve public funding.