Television has had a significant influence on the culture of many societies. To what extent would you say that television has positively or negatively affected the cultural development of your society?

Accessing televised content has generated significant challenges and risks to cultural progress in many nations. Methods of cultural preservation and fostering national identity are the main influencers of the impact of television. In my opinion, this is a negative influence on the development of any society because of the high possibility of cultural erosion. Initially, the advent of entertainment programs could promote the popularity of many cultural serial shows, which have spread and preserved national identity. In particular, telecasting cultural heritage, distinctive festivals, and traditional cuisines can introduce these unique features to Indigenous national locations and trigger curiosity among foreign tourists. As a result, this method has enhanced the general public’s awareness of their cultural cornerstone, building their self-esteem and confidence as members of their community. Additionally, this also fosters a sense of community and national identity as these programs have mirrored the values, experiences, and cultural narratives about the development of their civilization. However, I still believe this is a negative step because of the high rate of local cultural degradation in many nations. The future generation has more chances to access global digital content with the availability of some popular streaming services. This service promotes cultural exchange in the world, enhancing cross-cultural understanding and appreciation among diverse cultures. However, these streaming platforms prioritize the worldwide dissemination of commercially sponsored products, so this can be easily manipulated by some global media ventures. For example, the dominance of global media conglomerates can lead to the homogenization of culture, as Western media content becomes prevalent, potentially eroding some local traditions, declining traditional cultural practices, or rejecting mother tongue linguistics. To conclude, there are some advantages of television, including its role as a preservation method and fostering national identity. From my perspective, I believe that the impact of television in the digital era should be judged as a negative influence, which reduces cultural diversity due to the prevalence of a minority of dominant cultures.