People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In our contemporary, the importance and ubiquity of online translation applications have risen due to globalization. People are inclined to learn, travel and collaborate with foreign colleagues in the workplace. Although this phenomenon may contain certain drawbacks, I believe its upsides are more significant. Without a doubt, online translation apps have some shortcomings. The most noticeable one is inaccuracy in interpretation. Human language is sophisticated as people can use different sentences expressing the same meaning and the definitions of some words vary depending on the context. This complexity makes the online language tools difficult to do the translation perfectly, leading to misunderstandings or even conflicts. Moreover, the prevalent use of these apps can bring detrimental effects to the academic world. As language learners can translate an article in seconds at their fingertips, this convenience tempts them to over-rely on translation apps for their study, hampering their learning. Despite the implication posed by the dependence on online language apps, I firmly believe that these tools generally bring advantages to our day-to-day lives. The emergence of translation apps provides a handy option for people as they can look up the words on any occasion and location with their mobile phones. This is exemplified by travelling where visitors avoid interactions with the locals for fear of their poor language skills. Translation apps can eliminate language barriers, facilitating communication and cultural exchange among people from distinct language backgrounds. Furthermore, language learning apps can serve as useful educational tools by fostering learners’ intrinsic motivation to learn new words as they can save time from turning pages in a dictionary. In conclusion, it is evident that online language apps have seamlessly integrated themselves into our daily lives. Although this trend comes with certain drawbacks, they are counterbalanced by their positive impacts such as high accessibility, spurring understanding among people and improving learning effectiveness.