Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a statement among people that products with a lot of sugar should cost more to discourage consumption, as sugary food can lead to health issues. This essay agrees with the suggestion partially because of the potential benefits and drawbacks of the policy to raise the price. This essay first will discuss how health issues might decrease, as people will think twice before purchasing and then look at how it could negatively affect low-income families. To begin with, people may reconsider purchasing high- sugar products if they are more expensive, as it may affect their budget. Although it may be challenging for some to completely eliminate sugar from their diet; nonetheless, making sugary products more expensive is worthwhile because it can reduce overall sugar intake. Consequently, the health and well-being of people can improve. For instance, according to a recent study, the majority of people indicated that they would be less inclined to purchase sugary products that have become more expensive, as it would negatively impact their budget. On the other hand, raising the price of sugary foods could disproportionately affect lower-income individuals. In other words, some people may spend a larger proportion of their income on food, and since sugar is commonly used in cooking, the cost of their prepared meals could increase. For example, a recent study showed that after the implementation of a sugar tax, lower-income households faced a greater financial burden as they spent a higher percentage of their income. In conclusion, from the given arguments, I believe that while increasing the price of sugary products can reduce sugar intake and help mitigate health issues, it may negatively impact families who already spend a significant portion of their income on food. Therefore, implementing another approach to fighting sugar consumption that considers all people equally would be preferable.