Some people think that strict punishments for driving offenses are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world, crime rates are tremendously rising which includes violating the traffic rules. There are several individuals who believe that there will be a reduction in traffic accidents by imposing strict rules. While remaining folks prefer other ways to improve safety on the roads. In this essay, a discussion along with examples regarding the aforementioned statements will be elaborated. To begin with, the first and foremost view is to minimize brutal activities like accidents by stating strict laws. If individuals are aware of the demerits of violating the traffic rules then everyone will follow rules and regulations accurately. To elaborate, in Canada, there are strict punishments related to traffic offences like demerit points on the insurance and after 3 adverse, accidents the police will deactivate the driver's license for 6 months. However, despite the hectic schedules, everyone follows the traffic rules to remain safe from above mentioned statement. On the other hand, there are numerous people who prefer improvement in road safety to avoid any accidents. Although there are several safety precautions on the roads, the government can bring more safety procedures for the native community. For instance, according to this year's traffic survey, it was found that 80% of accidents in Surrey, Canada were related to cyclists. Therefore, there should be separate paths for cyclists and pedestrians to avoid brutal incidents. To conclude, both aforementioned arguments play an inherent role in everyone's life. In my opinion, despite the strict rules, several individuals commit traffic offences which become the reason for someone's death. Therefore, high authorities should take some measures to protect everyone's life by improving safety precautions on the roads.