Fewer young people play sports these days. Why is this? What can be done to encourage more young people to do sports?

It is claimed that the youth are not interested in playing sports compared to in the past. There are some main reasons along with potential solutions which will be indicated in this essay. Firstly, due to an occupied schedule and a rise in interesting entertainment, sport is not a priority for the spare time of the young generation. When people are too busy working or studying, they absolutely do not have that much free time. As a result, they would love to utilize their time as efficiently as possible. Instead of practising some sports, they are likely to choose other relaxing methods such as going to the cinema, playing games, and so on. In particular, these choices take less work, and more fun in comparison to playing sports, especially when they are already exhausted. In addition, young people may be not aware of its importance to their physical and mental health. Thus, it does make sense for a decrease in the number of sports players. Secondly, organizing some weekly or monthly tournaments at work or school will be effective in terms of promoting sports concerns. Obviously, competition is always the best thing to attract people, especially with wonderful rewards. Consequently, people have more incentives to invest their time in it. For example, the school can run a tournament between teachers and students every month, and the reward would be something like cupcakes, cleaning duty elimination, and so on. Potentially, losers will be regretful to improve on by practising more. For that reason, playing sports will gradually become a good habit for people. In conclusion, sports may not be keen on by young people nowadays owing to individual plans and many entertaining alternatives could be barriers, but there are still many ways to enhance it.