Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree with this view?

There has been an increasing number of spending taxes on modern and historical arts by the government, while others disagree and feel that the use of taxes should be prioritised for the unfortunate people who suffer from difficulties. I am partially in favour of this statement. On the one hand, it is noticeable that arts are an essential part of our life, and have beneficial effects for a wide variety of people. For instance, in educational arts, children and young people can express and experience their emotions, feelings, and thoughts freely through a blank canvas instead of in words. These school curriculums, therefore, foster students to develop imagination and creativity. Moreover, this is not only for the young people but also the arts help the old and disabled to improve their intellectual skills and protect against diseases. If those people participate in music and dance activities, which include physical and mental movement, prevent further adverse incidents, namely dementia and other cognitive disorders. Also, especially people who are autistic, express their thoughts incredibly clearly in arts without speaking or any verbal interactions. As a result, it is considerably worthwhile flourishing the field of arts with government subsidies. On the other hand, a large number of people need support from the government for daily necessities. For example, in recent years, inflation and recession have significantly impacted the public, and it has been getting considerably difficult to purchase just basic groceries, and clothes and pay rent. Consequently, needless to say, the government should prioritize taking a measure for those people rather than spending taxes on unurgent matters such as the arts without considering priorities. In conclusion, being satisfied with artistic education, cultures, and traditions is a vital part of one’s life, however, in my opinion, to meet public needs, the government should contemplate the primary issues from different directions rather than only focus on improving the arts.