Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore, working hours should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is clear to see that the biggest part of today’s jobs mostly depends on the intellectual work and new automation technologies. Due to this fact, some experts suppose that the number of manual labour has to be decreased. In my opinion, this trend is inevitable for the modern society and, in this essay, I am going to prove it by several arguments. To begin with, it is necessary to understand that it is cheaper to use automation systems and there are a lot of reasons for that. Firstly, it is evident that the expenditures of the new machine consist of the two main things: purchase and maintaining. Owners have to pay a huge amount of money to buy it, but in a long term they will save much cash on salaries, equipment and food with drinks which are always provided for the staff. As a result, it becomes like an easy choice for a manufacturer, because every investor would prefer to work with mechanism, which does not depend on additional factors and also does not require to have an income. Moreover, there is one another utterly crucial factor that may force companies to reduce the number of workers. Everyone does know that sometimes the job can be extremely dangerous. Therefore, the majority of countries have strict rules which obligate corporations to use additional things like equipment or special transport to prevent accidents. Experts would argue with me that this type of expenditures is commonly very expensive. In summary, it also makes manual labour less preferable in comparison with automatic machines. In conclusion, I would like to say that the decreasing of the number of vacations where the hand work is needed is not a catastrophe. It makes jobs much more safety, the products cheaper and helps the progress of the modern technology.