HOUSEHOLDS OWNING AND RENTING ACCOMMODATION IN ENGLAND AND WALES 1918 TO 2011

This bar chart demonstrated the proportion among households owning and renting accommodations in England and Wales from 1918 to 2011. From the chart we can tell, before 1971, households in rented accommodation has been accounted for, at least, 50% in all accommodations. During the first period of the record, rented accommodations even reach its peak at just below 80%. However, it started gradually declined when time passes. Therefore, it is imperative to know that the percentage cross over at 1971, which the owned accommodation has finally passes rented accommodation at 50%, where we cannot actually tell people’s hosting behavior. Then, it began slowly accounted for more percentage as a decade went by, and reach its peak at 2001 within two decades just below 70%. In conclusion, people in England and Wales tend to buy their own houses when economy became for stable and started to boomed Change the form of the verb boom show examples in 1970s, which they were looking forward to a bright future.