Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some scientists and researchers have suggested that the future of humanity hangs in a balance. Some say that the harm we have done to Earth’s climate means that we now must look for a new home elsewhere in the galaxy. I would argue that it is our responsibility to look after our native world and try to fix the damage we’ve done, as it may be the only home we will ever have. Many climate change scientists warned us that we are past ‘the point of returning’ with regard to global warming. The large amount of greenhouse gases has been produced and the destruction of plant life in forests and oceans have impacted the climate in a way that cannot be undone. Therefore many experts claim that the best solution would be to invest in technology which will help us start again on another planet. Nevertheless, this attitude seems irresponsible. Destroying the planet and then trying to find a new one shows a lack of care about the environment and all life on Earth, so we should not invest in space travel. Instead, we should be becoming more environmentally friendly and protecting ourselves from the results of global warming, such as flooding and the loss of agriculture. To conclude, although our situation seems dire, mankind is responsible for the planet that they evolved on. It has been our home for many thousands of years, and we must now dedicate ourselves to reducing the harm caused by human activity here.