Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission outweigh the diadvantages ?

Several museums require an entrance fee whereas some of them are free of charge. There are some concerns about whether the phenomenon has certain demerits such as the possibility of over-capacity. Considering its negative impacts, I personally believe that historical places must charge at least $2 ticket for the tourist. In this essay, I will look at the pros and cons and also draw some conclusions. On the one hand, if monuments allow visitors to travel without an admission ticket, the number of the audience will surge outrageously, which is beneficial for the popularity of the museum. Increasing audiences means having more people learn about the history of an event presented at the museum. For instance, in Indonesia, the free-of-charge National Museum has become the most-visited destination for tourists. In addition, this trend will further bring positive economic impacts to the surroundings including gift shops, nearby restaurants, and transportation services. On the other hand, unfortunately, the overly crowded museum due to the free admission has two negative effects. Firstly, visitors won't be able to enjoy the minuscule details of collections displayed inside the monument because of the traffic. For example, at the National Museum of Indonesia, we need to queue for approximately ten minutes only to see our Founding Father's curated paintings for a half minute. Moreover, the over-capacity might contribute to the faster building and operational tools depreciation. In conclusion, museums with no entrance fee do have merits and demerits in terms of how the crowd will act. Although more people will be literate about history, I do believe that its disadvantages outweigh its advantages owing to the museum's over-crowded downsides. At the end of the day, paying a $2 ticket to visit a museum will drive us to not take the learning opportunity for granted.