The government should sometimes infringe on people's freedom for the security of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Presently, it is getting more prevalent among governments to inturrupt the freedom of certain people to ensure the security of others. It is my contention that limiting the liberty of people could be necessary in rare circumstances to prevent atrocities from taking place, meanwhile it is also possible to uphold to this protection by taking some precautionary measures that does not yield the basic human rights. First and formost for most, the national security is treated as one of the utmost prioritized attributes by countries even if it does mean to compromise the freedom of their citizens. Governments encounter dozens of foreign threats on a daily basis and some of them are vicious ones that can lead them to a calamity such as a terror act. As we live on the edge of technology, the cyberthreats are rising substantially, resulting in loss of important digital and physical assets like data. Consequentially, governments put in huge efforts on limiting the internet access and spy on the social profiles of their citizens to detect and identify potential threats that may be evaluated as a national securityl level. To illustrate, intelligence organizations are rigorously violating privacy freedom of an entire population by listening to their phone conversations, looking for a potential key word to detect a next attact on their government. Conversely, I also believe that there are still alternative solutions that can be implemented so that national safety can be maintained without compromising the freedom of right. Furthermore, the ability to infringe upon certain individuals' freedom is not limited to a sole purpose, but rather they take it to a next level by utilising this power to mass control humanity, stealing propriatery information and selling it to the business conglomerates to market their products. For example, a former CIA agent exposed how the USA government is using its satellites to gather personal information in order to push their agenda forward by manipulating humans. In conclusion, whilst sometimes it may be crucial to intervene the freedom of suspicious individuals to ensure national safety, it can also be used as a tool to take people's freedom away.