In many countries traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think this is? What can parents and schools do to keep traditional customs alive?

Nowadays, few nations either have lost or are rapidly losing their customs, and rituals at an alarming rate. The reason behind this could be many like the influence of the other part of the world, but not without a rescue in the form of elders and educational institutions. This essay highlights both comprehensively. Today's era is a period of globalisation, and varied and diverse information in the form of cultural exchange is being flown from one part of the world to the other. A famous festival in Spain,The Tomaticana is widely followed in countries like India. As a consequence,a native festival of Holi is getting eliminated from major segments of India,which now has remained restricted to certain colonies. Moreover, a number of organisations like PETA and many celebrities are actively vocal about the harms of the dangerous chemicals used in Holi colours which not only jeopardize human life but also impact animal lives in a horrendous way. The youth blindly follow these famous persons and drift from their own cultural roots without even realising the purpose behind their existence. However, a parent being a first teacher has been found held accountable for imparting the cultural and moral values hidden in a custom like say Holi, which is known to be celebrated as the victory of a highly virtuous and innocent soul Prahlad from the hands of a devil lady. Likewise,schools through arranging folktales, and story enactment can help disseminate the cryptic message behind the act. For instance, a play can be arranged to show the tale of Prahlad and a devil lady, hence,students will come to the reason for the celebration rather than considering it a useless ritual. In a nutshell, customs are proof of the existence of any civilisation which needs to be protected to show the richness of a country's history. Thus,parents and schools with joint efforts can practically make this possible.