Some educationists think that international exchange visits will benefit the teenagers at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In my opinion, education is all about encouraging children to build positive relationships with other kids and the world as well as helping them learn necessary skills they will find useful when they start their careers. In this respect, I strongly believe that teenagers should spend time with a foreign country or culture and interact with the local people. Needless to say, we cannot turn a blind eye to the financial costs involved, so we have to work on this problem to support children making the most of this opportunity that their schools provide. Since the world has been becoming smaller and smaller with globalisation and digitization, it is highly likely that future generations will be urged to cooperate with people from abroad to tackle a myriad of problems. If they spend time overseas, then they will not just be able to learn languages but establish good, constructive relationships with members of other societies because that's what they learn through international exchange visits. In order to describe how effective and meaningful cultural exchanges between students can be, I would like to take a military conflict for an example. Unfortunately, you might not spend a day without watching a news programme that reports a war in which many civilians as well as soldiers are killed daily. However, people are intrinsically peaceful. No one would want to kill their friends with whom they spent time at school. No one would want to wage a war against their fellow world citizens with whom they discussed how to make the world a better place to live. As regards this issue, I am quite positive about the conscience we share. More international exchange programmes will lead to future generations building a better, more peaceful world. Having said that, not everyone can afford to study abroad. If we are to stop the wars that are being fought, and prevent another from breaking out, then we should invest much more money into education. There are a lot of things we could do to make this ideal an achievable goal. One is the commitment the government makes to assisting in and enriching teenage education, because due to the sense of security and hope the policies offer, more married couples will decide to have a family. Another is fairer tax systems where billionaires and big corporations who make an outrageous killing pay their fair shares, which in turn will be invested in the future of today's teenagers and future generations, to create a planet where we work for the same goals. In conclusion, it is ideal for teenagers to go to another country or culture and learn a lot through communicating with the local people. This cannot only widen their own horizons and help them understand the world better, but also promote our country as well as the whole world to flourish and thrive.