in some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for gevernments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. to what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that junk food is bad for your health as this nourishment is processed and prepared with many chemical additives. This essay agrees with charging people with a higher tax on fast food. Firstly, this essay will discuss how imposing taxes has helped with another kind of harmful products and secondly, how this approach could be a solution for obesity in some countries. The primary reason why I believe that fine companies that produce and sell highly processed food are an excellent way out is because this method has already worked out. In fact, in some countries, including the UK, it has been seen that taxing other damaging goods, such as tobacco and alcohol, is lowering consumption. Furthermore, northern countries, for example, Sweden and Denmark, are fining smokers, thus governments should do the same with companies that sell fast food. Another reason why I agree with the statement is that only limiting the economic access to this kind of diet will reduce the usage by unprivileged households. Moreover, beyond the health issue, eating junk food is amplifying the percentage of obese people, who are straining the health care system in countries where it is free, such as Italy and Spain. Hence, higher taxes could be a disincentive for obese people to keep on feeding themselves with this kind of food. In conclusion, taking all points into consideration, I believe that fining the purchase of fast food will be crucial not only for consumers but also in schools, in which growing children eat. Lastly, the economic benefits are still outweighing the possible drawbacks.