Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that people are utilising their available time by watching television predominantly which in turn makes them feel less energetic, also, reducing their involvement within the community. However, I believe that many entertainment programs are beneficial,and I strongly agree that it has caused detrimental impacts on the behaviour of an individual. This essay will discuss my views with supporting evidence. On the one hand, TV is considered as one of the best methods of passing the leisure time for people. In other words, it is affordable that everyone can have it in their home to watch different programs without wasting their money on any leisure activities such as shopping. In addition, there are many educational programs which will enhance our knowledge, also assists us in learning new languages and culture through various channels of different countries. For instance, the News channel aids people to keep themselves up to date with the happenings all around the world. On the other hand, many of them are taking advantage of this invention by wasting their time watching media without being actively involved in any physical or mental activities. For example, most of the kids after school have the habit of watching television without showing interest in physical activities or education. In addition, people believe that this is the best way to spend their time because of their sedentary lifestyle, their involvement in the community is often less than in the olden days. As a result, they don't have ample time to socialise with neighbours or even to spend time with their close ones. To conclude, although I believe that TV has brought many beneficial values to our lives, the negative impacts outweigh the benefits. People should understand the importance of time and should learn to manage effectively which would benefit them as well as society.