Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, there is a significant number of people with health issues who are trying different types of treatments or medicines instead of seeing their family doctor. Personally, I think this is a problematic issue due to potential misdiagnosis and unproven therapies. I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, patients have limited knowledge gained online or from other unqualified people. As a consequence, they might diagnose their problems incorrectly, leading to other health problems. For instance, my friend’s aunt had nose bleeding followed by splitting headaches for a while. She was unwilling to see a doctor and instead used alternative medicine. It wasn’t too long before she was diagnosed with terminal cancer and doctors gave up on her. This shows that not visiting a qualified doctor at the proper time can cause irreparable damage to health state. As a result, doctors who studied for a long period and have many years of experience are the eligible ones to count on for any health problems. Furthermore, many of the substitute treatments are not backed by science. Mainstream medications prescribed by doctors are subject to peer-reviewed research to ensure that they are completely safe for the consumer. However, many alternative medications have not been proved to be as effective as those prescribed by doctors, and what is worse, such medicines have more detrimental side effects. For instance, in my country Iran there are some shops called Atari which claim to have herbal medicines to cure all kinds of diseases, but their customers don’t see any desired results after consuming their medications. In conclusion, the increased use of alternative medicines and therapies should be viewed as a negative development due to a lack of regulation and their ineffectiveness in different situations.