Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity (those teaching programs that involve the use of written materials, videos, televised lessons and the Internet), but some people argue that courses can never be taken as good as those by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advent of the internet has changed the way people work and live. Nowadays, more and more individuals consider distance education system as an accessible option, which allows them to accomplish a degree at home. Distance learning has advantages in some aspects despite the difference from traditional tertiary education. First and foremost, distance-learning is more flexible than conventional education, which makes it possible for more individuals to receive education. To illustrate, students can take lessons by reading materials or watching videos on the internet. If the questions come up, they can pause and replay until the contents are completely understood. As these courses are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, they suit the adults with a busy lifestyle very well as long as they have access to the internet. Furthermore, the development of distance education provides the interact opportunities between audiences and lecturers. For instance, students can express doubts in a virtual classroom through interactive tools or emails. In this way, they can gain the guidance of the instructor and accomplish all the lessons better. Occasionally, they can even communicate with scholars from world famous universities despite the fact that they are their own nations. On the contrary, one of the major drawbacks of distance learning is that students’ communication skills cannot be improved, since there are no group assignments generally in distance education. Consequently, students complete their courses independently, which makes it difficult for them to be familiar with other classmates. Hence, there are no opportunities for them to expand their network, which poses a negative impact on their career development. In conclusion, distance learning makes college education more popular due to its flexibility. However, it has some disadvantages, such as lack of interaction, therefore it cannot provide the same learning effects as typical university education.