47.Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Sponsorship of sports by companies has become a prevalent practice in the world of sports. Some contend that it brings benefits for sports, whereas others view it as negative. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, proponents of sports sponsorship argue that this approach can increase the public's awareness of companies ' images. As global sports competitions such as The Olympic Games and Football World Cup attract millions of followers, financing these events can be a great way for companies to introduce themselves to large customers. For example, customers may develop a preference for Coca-Cola products and an intention to purchase thanks to various social activities done by this company during its sponsorship of the Olympic Games. Additionally, the involvement of businesses in sports allows athletes to become brand ambassadors and earn money outside their main occupations. This can motivate them to keep training to maintain the world-class performance which entertains their fans. On the other hand, there are numerous problems when companies take part in sports sponsorship. One of the most noticeable ones is that several sports teams and events endorse bad products and services which may cause adverse effects on consumers. For instance, in the English Prime League, various firms specializing in gambling or alcoholic beverages pay money to have their brand names and logos printed on players' kits. When young people are exposed to such advertisements, they may develop a positive association with these products and start using them. Secondly, the participation of businesses may cause unethical practices such as match-fixing. When companies sponsor sports teams, they will want their teams to win at any price and they even buy out players of rivals. This practice can damage the meaning of sports. In conclusion, sports sponsorship has both positive and negative aspects, depending on how it is managed and regulated. While it is essential to maintain financial viability for sports and provide support to athletes, it is equally important to strike a balance and ensure that the integrity and value of sports are not compromised. To achieve this balance, sports organizations should establish clear guidelines and ethical standards for sponsorship. Transparency, fair competition and preservation of the essence of sports should be prioritized.