49.Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some educators hold a belief that all children should learn to play a certain musical instrument. Despite the disadvantages associated with students ' hectic schedules, I believe that this approach is a good way to discover young musical talents and provide healthy pastimes for youngsters. On the one hand, it is undoubtedly that students are likely to suffer more pressure when musical subjects are added to the educational program. This is because this approach adds more stress to the already burdensome volume of schoolwork. In fact, students nowadays are often subjected to a busy schedule with a mounting of homework and in-class assignments. Therefore, adding another subject to their curriculum can make it more difficult for children to study effectively. The situation even gets worse if a child feels frustrated and no longer excited about learning music. They must be better off using that effort and time to focus on something which they are really interested in. On the other hand, it is understandable that learning music is believed to be beneficial for youngsters. Firstly, geniuses' musical talent can be discovered at a young age and later developed into a professional career. Dang Thai Son, who learnt the piano from his mother at the age of 6 and became the most Vietnamese successful pianist is an excellent example. Secondly, in the eyes of adults, learning to play music is a positive hobby and potentially replaces computer games. These days, teenagers spend most of their time watching mind-numbing television programs and playing digital games. Studies show that spending too much time on video games can produce behavioural and mental changes, leading to a lack of other activities and poor academic performance. Meanwhile, playing music can improve students ' verbal memory, spatial reasoning and literacy skills. The main reason is that playing music involves both sides of the brain which strengthens memorial skills. In conclusion, while learning to play a musical instrument can bring certain benefits to young people in terms of the discovery of young musical talents and organizing healthy pastimes, it is important to acknowledge its drawbacks such as increased pressure. It is advisable that musical education should be provided to students who are really interested in and willing to pursue it rather than imposing it on all children.