Countries with long working days are more successful economically, but there are some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some countries have longer working days while some have shorter. Their GDP levels differ as well. Is there really is a relation between the duration of working days and economic success? To a large degree I agree that there is. However, there are some negative outcomes followed. More labour hours are likely to bring more outputs since employees are given more time on research, communication and exchange of ideas to name but a few. The more the output, the higher the potential monetary inflow. When most industries follow this principle, countries will gain more success economically. For example, in the editing sector, when workers have long working days, they would complete more administrative work and materials. The amount of time for publishing reference books will shorten and more books could be published, attracting customers to purchase. However, citizen resilience will decrease because there is no work-life balance. Long working days sometimes leave workers dreary, unmotivated, and depressed. Hence, there are both pros and cons for long working days. The other reason for countries to thrive more economically is due to increasesd attention spans of the labour force. When working days are short, people need more time to warm up and get familiar with what they have left behind the previous day. Long working days allow the workers to be more devoted to work, and decrease the tendencies in breaking tasks into smaller pieces. Increased attention spans boosts work efficiency and brings in more success factors, eventually leading to better financial resources. Nonetheless, mental issues are serious harms under long working days. People may get used to being in a tense environment and working under pressure. In the long term, their sensitivity decreases and their mental health situation becomes worse. To conclude, I agree with the statement to a large degree. Long working days bring more output and attention spans. Lower resilience and decreased mental health are negative consequences followed. Country leaders need to think twice before adjusting their policies.