In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a personal DNA test is increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer.

In certain segments of the world, getting their own DNA test is becoming famous.It is a positive aspect because having information on one's genetic material can be useful in treating certain diseases and tracing one's origin. I am also in favour of testing one's DNA as it prevents certain harms which will be explained in the coming paragraphs. To initiate, DNA is a genetic material which contains all the genes that code for various useful proteins in the body for its smooth functioning. For example, An insulin that controls blood sugar levels is made from DNA only and a correct DNA will produce the right amount of insulin. However, there are also segments of DNA that make faulty genes. After scanning through the DNA, this region can be removed.To cite an example,Angelina Jolie few years back got both ovaries removed because she had a gene in her body that would cause ovarian cancer. Hence,by monitoring her DNA,she was able to get herself protected from the deadliest disease. Moreover, DNA testing allows us to trace back our ancestors. It is a technique which helps an individual to learn about the family history and its origin. Many Westerners, particularly, those without parents are now getting their genomes tested and learning about their birth parents.To illustrate, A girl Milley Cooper, from the USA with the help of a DNA test was able to reach out to her birth parents which stranded her due to a rare disease and she claimed her expenses,which otherwise was not possible. To conclude, science has unleashed an important technique which if used wisely can prevent millions from falling into the traps of dangerous disorders, also it has benefitted thousands of people in getting their family members.