“Because of the busy pace of modern life, many children spend most of their time indoors and have little exposure to the natural world.” Discuss the effects lack of experience with and understanding of nature can have on children as they grow up. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the fast pace of our modern lifestyle has resulted in the isolation of children from the natural world. It is of utmost importance that young children are taught to value our natural habitat. This essay will discuss three main consequences of this trend. To begin with, it is indisputable that our body’s well-being is strongly dependent on nature since our body absorbs necessary material through the outdoor space. For example, vitamin D, which is vital for our bones and skin, can be assimilated with the help of the sun. Additionally, research shows that youths who do not spend enough time outside suffer from serious health problems such as obesity and a higher risk of related conditions, like diabetes. Second, this sedentary lifestyle also harms mental health. As a matter of fact, lack of contact with the natural world can lead to increased stress, anxiety and depression in children. For instance, studies have shown that spending time in green spaces can reduce stress levels and improve mood. Consequently, those growing up in urban environments with limited access to nature may miss out on these benefits. Finally, with the fast rate at which deforestation, urbanization and other practices, which erode the ecosystem, are taking place these days there’s a growing need for greater environmental awareness. Hence, children who do not spend enough time in nature may lack appreciation and understanding of ecological concerns. Indeed, this can hinder their ability to acknowledge the importance of conserving natural resources and protecting the environment. In conclusion, regardless of how the culture and behaviour may change, kids should be incentivized to be regularly in contact with nature. Since it will teach them to understand and esteem the natural world, as well as, positively contributing for mental and physical health.