Some people think an international car-free day is an effective way to reduce air pollution. Others think there are more effective ways to do this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A section of society believes that an international car-free day will be a more effective solution to decrease air pollution, however, I agree with the latter view of applying effective ideas to do so. This essay will discuss both views. The main source of pollution is fuel generated by vehicles, however, this essay disagrees that car pollution is the only reason for air pollution. There are various factors which hammer air contamination. Car pollution is like a drop in the ocean and having a car-free day is not going to show a big impact as the cars back on the roads will generate the polluted air again. This is not a long-term solution and will not be helpful to the community. For example, as per the Oxford University survey conducted in 2017 in London showed that only 5% of pollution was reduced in London on a car-free day. There are many alternate ways to control air pollution, to name a few uses of public transport, eco-friendly vehicles and planting more trees. The use of electronic and eco-friendly vehicles will reduce the contamination of air for a long time. For instance, according to the New York Times in 2018, citizens of Hungary have switched their use of vehicles by making more use of eco-friendly cars and commuting by public transport. This has tremendously reduced the air pollution in their country by almost 60%. To conclude, a car-free day is a short-term solution however switching to eco-friendly products will show the long-term results and will be beneficial to us and our surroundings.