The internet means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The growth of information available on the internet in recent decades has prompted some to question the value of international travel. In my opinion, travelling to other countries is a rewarding experience, but I am largely in agreement with this position. Those who still advocate travelling abroad highlight how important the experience can be. This argument centres around both its value in itself as well as its utility. Most travellers can justify the time and money by the enjoyable experience and discovery of another country, including their people and traditions. These experiences are also formative. For example, someone who grows up in a wealthy European nation might not have seen how people live in developing or more ethnically diverse countries. They will therefore have a fuller understanding of the rest of the world if they travel a lot and this could impact both their political views and their actions later in life. Nonetheless, travel is no longer as important as it used to be because it is now possible to learn about countries online. The experience is still valuable but online information is actually likely to be more accurate and comprehensive. An individual who wants to research life in Vietnam, for instance, can scroll through lifestyle blogs, read the local online versions of magazines, watch videos of both foreigners and residents from all over the country, follow individuals from a wide segment of society on Instagram, and generally get a good sense for the country without ever setting foot there. In the past, limited access to technology in those developing countries might have made it impossible to understand how locals live, but that is no longer a problem. In conclusion, the information that can be found on the internet has greatly diminished the importance of the experience of travelling to other countries. Each individual must nonetheless decide for themselves whether it is still a worthwhile expense.