Some people do not directly go to college after graduating from high school but travel or work for a short time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the current year, the popularity of gap year has attracted more young people who graduate from high school. Although this trend has some disadvantages for students, I believe that these positive impacts are overshadowed by many adverse influences on their future development. On the one hand, travelling or working for a short time can be seen as detrimental for several reasons. This is because they start formal schooling at the university later than their peers causing a lack of university degrees. This can miss the opportunities and one less year of earning potential. Additionally, taking a brief time to work or travel can potentially carry a number of financial and personal. For example, many youngsters aim to postpone their studies frequently without careful planning and budgeting, so students can be burdened with travelling costs and easily get sidetracked from their desired plans and goals. On the other hand, I believe that having a constructive gap year can be both personally and academically beneficial for learners. Most noticeably, it can be better prepared for graduates with the opportunities to absorb life experiences. More specifically, they can experience diverse cultural settings and exposure to different ways of living and thinking by travelling. Consequently, they are useful for further studying and working and enriching oneself with real-life experiences, becoming more well-rounded individuals. For instance, when young people work part- time, their communication skills, time management and problem-solving skills are often boosted by collaborating with others to complete job assignments. In conclusion, in spite of some negative effects of taking a year off before college, I hold the opinion that travelling or working for a brief period of time can trigger more adverse effects on their future.