Children should never be put in prison with adults no matter how serious their crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people are of the opinion that when the young commit a grave crime, they should not be jailed with adults. I completely agree with this statement. The following essay will outline the reasons why I feel that children should have a different location to serve their time such as juvenile detentions. The primary reason why I agree that children should be separated from adults is because of their vulnerable age. To begin with, they are still at their primary stage of growth and require special guidance to help them understand basic concepts. For instance, a child playing with dangerous weapons will view death differently compared to an adult who intentionally wants to kill someone. In other words, a child may not want to kill someone as they are unable to comprehend what 'killing' means whereas an adult committing a cold murder would understand its consequences. Secondly, minors are much more vulnerable to being influenced easily as a result of their immature mind. Thus, it is crucial that they are isolated from grown criminals and are thereby prevented from spending any direct time or interactions with them. Moreover, protection from criminals is another reason why I agree that children should not be placed in the same prison as adults. Recent studies have shown for example that the highest number of sexual assaults occur inside prisons. Despite prisons being heavily guarded by law enforcement officers; they are not able to supervise at all times. If rooms (including showers sometimes) are being shared by cell mates then the chances of unsupervised inappropriate behaviour are extremely high. Also, women are placed separately from men in imprisonment for this very reason yet still, the issue of sexual violence persists. In my opinion, it only seems logical to keep children away from such hostile environments and allow them to grow in juvenile detentions instead. To conclude, there are various reasons why I agree with the claim that children should not mix with adults when they are imprisoned due to the aforementioned discussion. This is largely because of their vulnerability and to protect them from any sexual violence. Rather, I recommend that they be placed inside juvenile detentions instead when found guilty of any crime.