Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the digitalized era, it is undeniable that young people utilize smartphones most of the time. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency, and I firmly believe that this trend brings detrimental effects to society and individuals. There are several primary reasons why teenagers waste relatively all of their free time on electric devices. One cause is that cell phones are indispensable equipment in every child’s maturation. Due to the fact that they were exposed to smartphones when they were young, it is regarded as an inevitable factor in their lives. Therefore, adolescents indulge in this virtual world on mobile phones nearly always. Moreover, there are a great deal of elements grabbing the attention of youngsters. Some research showed that social media like Facebook, and Youtube with short videos and appealing applications such as online games are overused by children for 10 hours per day. Thus, they are easily distracted from social activities and spend a half day on cellular phones. This phenomenon leads to some disadvantageous progression in society. Firstly, squandering too many hours on digital screens results in a lack of outdoor activities. Hence, these youngsters are vulnerable to diseases such as heart ailments, headaches, and short-sightedness. Secondly, this habit makes adolescents hardly participate in social activities and gain experience and soft skills. Specifically, these people cannot cope well with certain issues in real life, so it is extremely difficult for them to expand their relationships and integrate into society when fully focussing on high-tech devices. In conclusion, many kids utilize mobile phones almost always resulting from two reasons early access to electric devices of the child and several attractive applications. I’m convinced that this is a detrimental trend because of the risk of getting diseases and the reduction of opportunities to interact with the community.