Nowadays, people always throw old things and have new things. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effect does this phenomenon lead to?

The new trend in town is to dump previous objects in order to make room for new ones. There are plenty of reasons for this, including the urge to purchase the latest release and it is having plenty of consequences such as emotional damage. The following essay will discuss this in more detail. One of the major causes of this trend is the need for everyone to keep up with the best quality of everything and present it on social media. For instance, my online feed is commonly filled with images and videos of the new iPhone someone either purchased or received as a gift even though they have a perfectly working phone that they are using to record the post with. Thus, the public is only satisfied when they are able to make the new purchase irrespective of the price and showcase it for the world to view. Also nowadays, parents do not define their children's success with their academic rigour but with their ability to function their iPads or tabs. Therefore, as soon as a company releases another new and improved version of the same product, children are often the first customers to replace their regular gadgets with the updated version. One of the most concerning effects of this trend is that it is harming people psychologically as well as financially. First, the more materialistic one becomes the more they are detached from reality. This will result in serious emotional and mental harm, especially to young children, if they are unable to differentiate necessity from luxury in life. Second, the less fortunate people who may be influenced to follow the trend may be suffering financially by trying to please their circle by throwing away their regular phone for the price of a new iPhone for example. Some may be in debt as a result of it and that may contribute to further mental trauma than the ones already discussed. Thus, this phenomenon is capable of causing a number of detrimental effects for an average person. To conclude, the trend of dumping old items for the sake of buying new ones is a problematic phenomenon due to the aforementioned discussion. Although, it may cause someone great happiness when they make that change; that happiness is only temporary. The effects however, may be permanent.